top of page

Creative Writing Challenge- Exploration

I CAN’T DO IT I wanted to do a 30-day writing prompt challenge to push myself and challenge myself (duh) to become a more efficient and time-managing writer, but even one short story takes literally a whole day AND THEN SOME. It sounds stupid, I know, but it happens. I started this challenge to learn more about myself as a literary genius, and I have. It’s not about me being inconsistent; I truly tried with this. It’s only 5 days in and I’ve already failed, but through my failure, I’ve learned more about myself than I’ve learned in years. The most important thing that I learned is even though a short story may only be 2500 to 3000 words (maximum), my OCD won’t let me just write. I have to type out LITERALLY every single detail of the story from what happens to the character, if he/she will have a family, the age of the character, their appearance, whether they will be the center of conflict, whether they will take a trip to the bathroom, what they’ll do in the bathroom, how whatever it is that they do in the bathroom will tie into the story as a whole, and so on. Here’s an example of what I mean: “Prompt: At a Chinese restaurant, your character opens his fortune cookie and reads the following message: 'Your life is in danger. Say nothing to anyone. You must leave the city immediately and never return. Repeat: say nothing'… This story will start off with the main character having lunch/dinner with friends at a Chinese restaurant. They have a conversation and are eating. The protagonist goes to the bathroom and maybe has an episode which leads to the whole story of him being chased being in his head? but he goes to the bathroom and maybe if nothing happens, then it can just be him describing his feelings and appearance so that the audience will have a clear description of what he looks like and who he is (his views about the conversation? What will it be about? Or maybe he’ll just think about his family which will gain sympathy from the audience when he gets the fortune). The story could have a parallel to the Bible with Sodom and Gomorrah. The main character, Joel (like Joel from The Last of Us) will be the modern-day Lot. The friends are all drunk, so they’re the citizens of the city that gets destroyed while they are in it. The woman who Joel tries to save and take with him is a parallel to Lot’s wife who turns around and becomes a pillar of salt—the woman turns to look back at the restaurant after shots are fired and gets hit by a bullet. The main character stays for a while but the person who shot the woman walks towards him, so he must leave her. He runs around the city ducking and weaving through alleyways and witnessing people on the street being shot and blown to bits and pieces. He tries crossing the street and a bus rolls toward him full speed (for the continuation, he gets saved by a woman and their adventure goes from there).” I literally write and plan like this for everything (imagine how much writing I had to plan out just for the first 2 chapters of my book). I can’t NOT do it. You may think “Yanna, just start writing. Just write. It’s not that serious.” Well, I’m telling you that FOR ME, it is. I’ve learned that I’m obsessed with planning my stories to better execute every twist and turn. I could have written about the man just being given the fortune and running for his life until he reached Canada and was saved by Justin Trudeau. I could've taken a comical approach and wrote about the main character (Joel) getting the chilling fortune that had instructions of things he had to pick up and it ended up that his friends were just throwing him a surprise birthday party and he picked up weird objects as his own presents. There are so many ways this short story could have gone. I personally wouldn’t write a comical piece because I’m more into dark, tear-jerking, heart-wrenching stories. Dark thriller/ horror is my niche (something else I’ve come to understand about my writing). That’s just me. In 5 days, I’ve gotten to understand me better, which is all I could have ever asked for from this challenge. I’ll still continue to write, but just expect these short stories to be spaced out well more than a day lol. 

bottom of page