top of page

What's up??

What's goin' on, y'all?

I mentioned my writing the past few posts these last 2 weeks, and I'm going to talk a little more about it today.

Overall, my book is coming together slowly but surely. I'm so dedicated to this project. You guys have no idea haha! First, I rewrote my blurb (the enticing plot overview on the back of books). Here it is, and if you're interested in reading my book, please let me know! Don't hesitate to inquire more info! I'm documenting my book journey, so don't worry:

“Every nation is on edge, bracing for World War 3—all because of her. In this action-packed fiction novel set in 2023, she doesn’t know much at all about her past. The only certainty is her half African, half Korean descent. Pushing her way to international fame from dancing to singing and acting, she makes a household name for herself, hoping someone from her past will recognize her. But classified information anonymously leaks of her being from the dictatorship North, not the free South, Korea. Tensions rise around the world as she is accused of being a spy, and when she’s kidnapped, no one knows who to believe. North Korea threatens America’s national security and allies. The world is on the brink of war and she’s the source of conflict—will she be able to fight for the greater good while uncovering her truth?”

Interesting, right? Right? To be completely honest, I don't even know how the idea came to me; I'm glad it did find its way into my heart, though. Even if this book flops and doesn't reach a large audience outside of my family and friends, I'm going to be the proudest I've ever been of myself. I really don't think failure is even possible UNLESS I give up-- unless I don't finish it. Whether I get too busy, unmotivated, or just lazy... that's my failure. I have problems with consistency, but even without consistency, there is still progress. I won't give up.

With that being said, I was thinking of cover designs and basically how much my vision costs, and I realized that professional artists and book cover designers are EXPENSIVE as f... you know? And each book cover would be hundreds of thousands of dollars, so I decided to pick up another skill and do my own cover. It won't be easy, but I'll practice religiously. It makes sense to skip paying hundreds of dollars per book for cover art and invest in my own graphic tablet, right? Here's what I just bought like an hour ago:

It's the WH1409 graphics tablet from the company Huion. I looked at plenty of reviews for many competitors that were around the same price ($159), and many people on youTube agreed that this was a sound tablet with easy setup and multi-software compatibility which is great because I don't have Photoshop (expensive), and there are a few free software out there. The one I plan to use is called Krita. The drawings I've seen are gorgeous!! I can't wait to get started, y'all. This project will be a success, I can just feel it!

As for the actual book itself, I'm still waiting to here from a few friends and family to read the chapters I've sent them and send back a report on what needs to be updated or fixed, so I'm not really writing the actual story again just yet, but I'm focusing on securing what I already have. Also, I'm mapping out the entire plot and all the important characters and mysteries so that I can maximize my options for huge plot twists and jaw-dropping reveals. Please, I can't plead enough: this book is going to be amazing. I'm not bragging or anything. I'm wholeheartedly expressing my soul into this project, and I'd love for more and more people to be apart of this. If interested, email me at amirjamesprojects@gmail.com and I'll get back to you in a short amount of time (I promise) because I have no life and my phone is always dry, so :/.

Thanks so much for giving me the time of day, even if it was only like 30 seconds. i appreciate you!

Amir James~

bottom of page