top of page

My Reset

My entire life, I was lied to. There were people telling me how beautiful they thought I was. Some said I was the cutest girl in the world. Then there were some who told me I was ugly. They said I would never find love or someone who recognized my beauty. My whole life, I believed every word they all said. You're probably wondering how a person can believe 2 completely different things at the same time. Well, I believed them when they said I was beautiful. My long hair and clear skin was a mark of their beauty scale, even when my numbers on the scale grew. I believed them when they said that I was ugly. My dark skin and chubbyness was a mark on my forehead that branded me for endless bullying. But then I cut my hair and the compliments became scarce. The bullies are living their own lives now, and we hug whenever we see each other at the store or a university graduation as if emotions were never provoked or tears were never shed. I'm still learning how to block out people's perceptions of me and how to love who I know I am, but at least now I know that it only takes one person to tell me I'm beautiful, and that's me. It may sound cheesy, but with self-improvement comes self-love, and I want to get better with time, so only the truth is allowed in my heart. There's no room for lies here.

bottom of page